Personal Change – On Becoming a Leader

With my vendor transition going live on Monday, I look ahead to my next endeavor.  Though my work in project management is not finished, I will be helping out with a different kind of change over the next six months. As we work to stabilize the final team transitioned over to our organization, I have agreed to help as the team lead.  This represents a change for me as well as the team as I help lead this organizational change.

Prior to the decision to make this change, the team was disjointed.  People were unsure of who they were supposed to report to and had no real support system in place.  I’m excited to have the opportunity to work with this team in providing the necessary support, but also bringing them back together as a team.

In addition, I want to bring all that I have learned from the transitions about effective communication and change management.  Effective communication involves listening and engaging with my team members rather than simply talking at them.  I want to get to know each member of the team to understand their strengths and goals so that together we can transform the business to be as efficient as possible.  I will rely on their creativity and expertise in helping to make that possible.
Most of all I just want to be a leader that they can trust and respect.  Though I have studied leadership quite a bit throughout my time in the MBA program at UNR, it is one thing to study leadership and another to actually do it.  I know the qualities I look for in a leader and will work hard to exemplify them to the team.  My top leadership qualities are:
  1. Confidence
  2. Honest, Open
  3. Fairness
  4. Creativity
  5. Integrity
  6. Has a clear vision and can communicate it
  7. Can walk the talk

Though this organizational change is not without challenges, I am confident I will be able to use the insight I have gained from previous changes to navigate my way through and issues that may arise.

What are your top qualities in a leader?  What advice would you give for a first time leader?

2 thoughts on “Personal Change – On Becoming a Leader

  1. Thanks for the encouragement, Mackenzie! I think it’s important to reflect on the leadership qualities we want to exhibit as we head out into the world as future leaders. Stay tuned for updates on how I’m progressing!

Leave a Reply

