Ready, Set, Lead

As you may have noticed, it has been quite a while since my last post.  Where I left off in January, I was discussing how I was moving into a temporary leadership role with a team I had just transitioned over to my employer while still maintaining my project management role.   While I have enjoyed learning about project management for the past year and a half, I could tell that it wasn’t my passion.  The past two months in my temporary leadership role have solidified this sentiment.

It is for this reason, I decided last Friday that I would leave my project management role altogether and permanently move into the leadership role as the team lead of 12 amazing individuals.  I’m extremely excited about this opportunity as I truly believe it is a better fit for me and aligns with my career aspirations of being a people manager.

This role change means my blog will be changing as well (hence the new title, mission, and theme).  Although my posts may contain pieces of change management because changes will inevitably occur that I will have to manage as a leader, but the content will be more leadership based.  I will use my experiences to explore what it means to be an effective leader.  In the past I relied on my research and my observations of leaders around me to theorize about effective leadership, but now I will offer my own perspective rooted in my journey as a new leader of a team.

Do you have any leadership words of wisdom?  What does effective leadership mean to you?

photo credit

2 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Lead

  1. Hey long time no read!

    Effective leadership is essential, especially when it comes to overall morale and confidence in a group or organization.

    Now if I can only pinpoint what exactly makes one effective…

    • Hi G,

      Thanks for stopping by! Unfortunately, I have been on hiatus while finishing school, but have just returned in full force. I think effective leadership is all about communication and trust. I think it’s important for leaders to be honest and to follow through on what they say they’re going to do.

      Melissa

Leave a Reply

